March 21st...
This morning I saw a lady that didn't speek any English. It made it a little difficult to explain everything to her. I kept speeking in English thinking that eventually she would catch onto what I was trying to tell her. But finally I just had Lilly translate for me. She was a huge help to me this morning. My patient had all of the classic Mexican restorations. The gold around the tips of her teeeth--clasic! She had them done 3 years ago in Mexico. They were not only ugly, but they had huge margins around them. I hope that she doesn't get major decay in these areas. She had really deep pockets which were perfect for Atridox. (Thanks Crystal for talking us all into using a medicament! ha ha ha Really, how was I going to explain $20 for 4 areas when the patient didn't even speak English.) She was also bleeding like crazy! I can't believe how much blood I had all over the place. It was all over my glasses, the chair, and her! Grose! I esp. hate it when I am spraying water in patients mouths and for some reason it just hits the tooth in the wrong spot and shoots right back in my face. YUCK!
My afternoon patient was a guy that I saw a couple of weeks ago. I just had to finish the left side of his mouth. Last time I saw him--his teeth looked aweful. He was also a heavy bleeder. I recommended chlorahex. rinse and actually using his tooth brush and today he looked a lot better. It didn't take long to clean his other half. I love it when I don't have to recheck blood pressure, probe, etc. It makes time go by so much faster. He was done in about an hour and then I had to just wait around for the rest of the afternoon.
Yea, another day down. One week until boards. I am sure looking forward to passing my test and then graduating. I don't think that we can handle being in the same class room with the same people for much longer. I need out! Only about a month left. YEA!
p.s. I am not pregnant. I have just been eating like a cow--THUS, the pregnant look--lumpy. I'm sure that after boards are over--my eating habbits will settle down! (hopefully)

4 Comments:
ha ha ha, who thought you were prego miss skinny minny of the universe!!! Don't worry, all the eating habits must be contagious :) Um, way to go on the Atridox, and thanks for letting me in on yet another "REQUIREMENT." After today i never want to hear that stupid word again. Love yer guts, see ya bright and early!
So you girls studying or what in the am? I wish you luck if you are. I will be at the VA wishing I was with y'all! I think I must be prego with pentuplits--all my lumps! I am all sorts of jealous of your Atridox experiences! I hope you have a great morning!
I would love some Spanish lessons! However, I would not be able to pay ($$$) for these lessons! Let me know if there is any way possible to get FREE lessons...
you two should keep some of these conversations a little less public! ha ha ha...our teachers read these you know!!!
Post a Comment
<< Home