Thursday, October 20, 2005

OUCH...

SO, not only is my arm still sore--but now I have a sore finger! Thanks a lot Crystal! ha ha ha.

Today we had a lab in the morning and then saw a patient in the afternoon! Our lab consisted of extra oral fulcrums (thanks Shane), wheel chair transfer, sonic scaler, and the spit test! I can't really say that one was better than another. We laughed all morning. I love it! It doesn't really matter what we are doing--there is always something funny.

Shane taught us the "modified pen grasp" which consisted on clenching his fist around the instrument and popping out a tooth. I don't really think that this is a technique that I will be using--unless I want to do an extraction! ha ha ha

Kim (Inst. Pocock) taught us about wheelchair transfer. It was so funny. I couldn't quit laughing long enough to get the strength to pick up little 90 pound Jami. She actually ended up on my lab. Good times! We also got to push eachother around in the wheelchair. One pushed and the other three got to ride! We hit a few bumpy spots, but no one was injured! We also practiced taking impressions. I was glad to have a chance to do this again. I feel like I need a lot more practice in this, but I'm sure that it will get better.

Prof. Gall had us doing a glucose test by drawing a pool of blood on eachothers fingers. I was first. I was so nervous. Crystal told me that she was a "professional" but when I asked her what type of professional she was--she didn't know. So, basically my confidence went down the drain! ha ha ha. I did have a chance to get her back by poking her finger. She was so scared, I had to sit on her lap to keep her from freaking out! Oh, Crystal! This was followed by Kelsie and Crystal having a competition to see who could spit more spit in a cup. Sick! I think that they ended up the same in the end. As for myself, I couldn't even spit one little drop into my cup. I guess I just wasn't born to spit! Oh well! What can you do!

Our lunch was ruined by the instructors freaking us out about mock boards and real boards. I suddenly felt sick. I felt a huge weight on my shoulders and weak in my knees. How will I ever survive the real thing. Melissa Rees told me that she is planning on getting some drugs to make things better. Whatever floats your boat, eh?!

This afternoon I saw a class 1B. Yea! My first one! He was really nice. I took him back to get his x-rays and I was just trying to make conversation with him by asking him about Halloween. I asked him if he was excited for Halloween. He said no. Then I asked if he was dressing up for Halloween. That is when he told me that in his religion he doesn't celebrate any holiday's. Oops. I guess we kind of got off on the wrong foot! Things did get much better. He was really nice. He was gagging on the ultrasonic, but he survived. I told him that he could complain to me if he wanted, but when my instructor (Kim) came over, he needed to act like everything was going good. We both laughed--I was totally kidding. Then next thing you know, he was telling Kim how great I was, that I was better than any one that he had ever seen, and that his teeth felt so good, etc. I was laughing because I knew that he was just saying that because I basically told him to. After Kim left, I told him that he said way to much, but we both laughed. He was really nice and liked to laugh at all of my stupid jokes. He got clean and we both had a good time.

I can't wait to see what is next. There is always something exciting around the corner. I think that next week could be a lot more stressful than today. I hope that the mock boards go well.

1 Comments:

At 6:03 PM, Blogger Jami said...

well, i was feeling the same way after our little chat about boards and MB's. I'm just greatful we have the chance to do mocks cuz that would really be a shizzer on board day if we had no idea what was going on. Thanks for the kicks and giggles today. Pretty sure i'm more than 90 lbs...and plenty more than 95 natalie! That was fun though! Oh, and maybe if you would stop making-out for one second you'd have enough spit leftover for the saliva test! ha ha ha

 

Post a Comment

<< Home